The Council operated as an unincorporated association from 1993 to mid-2011.  In June 2011 the Council incorporated in New South Wales, as the Australian Council of Engineering Deans Inc.

Under its Constitution:

  • ACED members are the Australian universities that operate degree programs accredited by Engineers Australia, each represented by the persons who has executive responsibility for those programs and related matters;
  • ACED members pay an annual subscription;
  • the full Council meets twice per year, with its AGM in Autumn;
  • the affairs of the Council are run by an Executive Committee of six elected members, chaired by the President, and supported by the part-time Executive Officer;
  • the President and Deputy President are elected to two-year terms, with the Deputy President normally succeeding to the President role;
  • the Committee of Associate Deans (Learning & Teaching) from the member universities undertakes specific projects in teaching and learning;
  • the Committee of Associate Deans (Research) from the member universities undertakes specific projects in research and research training;
  • ACED provides financial support to its members to undertake small collaborative projects on matters of importance.  


Partner Organisations

In addition to working with EA and AaeE, during recent years ACED has also worked with the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) and the Australian Council of Deans of ICT (ACDICT) on matters of mutual interest.  The Council is a Chapter Member of the Global Engineering Deans Council (GEDC).

Download the Constitution

Download the Strategic Plan